James Schallheim    Avner Kalay

   Conference Organizers
Utah Winter Finance Conference
Home Page
24th Annual Utah Winter Finance Conference
February 6-8, 2014 CLIFF LODGE, SNOWBIRD, UTAH

 A big thank you to our submitters, reviewers, selected authors, presenters, discussants and session chairs! We had another great conference. The quality of the papers, presentations and discussions was fantastic. During the conference our conference attendees were joined by a worldwide audience that included viewers from five(5) continents in twenty-three (23) countries. The growth of the conference continues to amaze and humble us.

We have recorded all the presentations and discussions and you can find the HERE under the Webcasts area along with a link to the paper. We were also very appreciative that Nobel Prize Winner Lars Hansen was able to give a great keynote which will be available online in the next few days.

Thank you again to all those who helped make this conference another great success!

2014 Utah Winter Finance Conference 
Keynote Speaker 

Lars Hansen - University of Chicago

"Uncertainty Inside and Outside Economic Models"

Friday February 7, 2014 8:00 PM (MST)


Congratulations to the 2014 Shmuel Kandel Award Winner: Stefanie Schraeder from the University of Lausanne and the Swiss France Institute.

Thank you to our Shmuel Kandel Award Selection Committee: Gur Huberman (Chair), Ronnie Sadka, Avri Ravid, Doron Avramov, Alon Brav, Gideon Saar, Ron Kaniel, Amir Yaron, Shmuel Baruch, and Evgeny Lyandres.

The Utah Winter Finance Conference and the Review of Asset Pricing Studies and the Review of Corporate Finance Studies announce a combined submission process. At your choice, your paper submitted to the UWFC also will be considered for publication by the RAPS or the RCFS without additional submission fee. This is a "no-fault" submission option, which means that if one of the SFS journals decides to review your paper and rejects it, you may submit to any SFS journal at a later date as if the paper was never submitted.  Please see our website for the rules for submitting your paper to the RAPS or RCFS.

We will webcast live the presentations and discussions of the 2014 UWFC (and store the videos on our website for future viewing) as was done in past years. Following the 2012 UWFC, our website experienced a total of 33,648 visits by 5,125 unique visitors from 94 different countries (top 10 countries: US, China, Japan, France, UK, Germany, Ukraine, India, Russia, and Canada).

There is a $1,000 best paper award.  The best paper is selected by a vote of the participants at the end of the last session.

The Utah Winter Finance Conference offers a $2,500 award to an outstanding PhD student in financial economics honoring the memory of Shmuel Kandel. The student will attend the UWFC and must also participate in the Student Utah Winter Finance Conference (SUWFC) held the Friday following the UWFC at the University of Utah (the student is invited to remain in Utah between “conferences” or may travel in the intermediate period).

Website Builder